Nidrâ Yoga

Nidrâ yoga

What is Nidrâ Yoga?

The origins of Nidrâ Yoga are scientifically uncertain as the oral tradition preceded by several thousand millennia the written culture, the few rare texts referencing Nidrâ Yoga essentially coming from the Shivaite tradition of Cashmere, written around the 10th century. Since that time teachings have spread directly from instructors to students, helping Nidrâ Yoga to maintain itself in a living tradition.

The importance to clear the perception by the senses is enormous, as it conditions the whole process of all our relationships to everything and everyone. 

Yoga Nidrâ is a traditional approach of knowledge based on deep relaxation and tension-free concentration. 

Jagrat

Jagrat, is the waking state in which the subject looses the consciousness of its true nature by identifying to the body, to the shape and to the name.

Svapna

Svapna, is the dreaming state in which identification relies on impressions and mental images resulting of memories accumulated during the waking state. There again, the subject remains unaware of its true nature. 

Sushupti

Sushupti, is the dreamless sleeping state in which the subject is not anymore aware of anything. It is a state of absence.

Turya

Turya, which follows the first three states can be discovered through Nidrâ Yoga. It is a state in which the true nature of the subject, its identity without objects, is perceived, generally in an lightning and unforseeable way.

It is also what Yoga tradition names Samadhi, or the natural state of universal consciousness.

Turyatita

Turyatita, which is the settling of the subject in this state of consciousness, is the result of repeated incursions in the state of Turya,totally autonomous and independent of any personal will.

The proposition of Nidrâ Yoga is to travel in total lucidity the path going from the forgetting towards the presence to self. It resides in an approach of progressive awareness of the ensemble of processes organising the sensation of being alive. In a very paradoxal way, this awareness can only be perceived in a deep state of « letting go ».

The practice of Nidrâ Yoga is constituted in a whole ensemble of very codified exercices allowing one to visit the various fonctions organising the human being.

It relies in particular on two fundamental approaches which are the very deep conscious relaxation and the penetrating concentration without tensions

A great number of exercices are used, fostering and allowing:

  • Deep relaxation of the anatomical, physiological, osseous and nervous bodies. 
  • Mental relaxation and recognition of the organisation schemes of thought.
  • Awareness of the different types of dreams and energies from which they proceed.
  • Relationship to archetypes and their influence on dreaming and waking state.
  • Perception and development of the energetical body.
  • Use of mental imaging to enlarge perception faculties .
  • Developing of sensory faculties.
  • Dosing of the will and mental silence.
  • Relationship to death.
postures

The place of postures

We could qualify Nidrâ yoga of a yoga without postures as precisely, there is no body work in the strict sense. It is exclusively about deepening the different levels of relaxation and degrees of concentration.

This being said, because we do have a physical body, we do need to place it in a position! Concretely, the deep relaxation part (sithilîkarana) takes place laying down on a thick mat whereas the penetrating part (Dhâranâ) is taking place sitting on a cushion. In its advanced phase, Nidrâ yoga takes place in either in a sitting posture or walking. Now for what concerns the self-study part (Svâdhyâya) that implies different types of dialogues (interior, at two, three of in group), it takes place sitting with precise instructions

It is a specific exercice where one learns alone or in group to search a way between expression and experience, between the clarity of the mind and the intense perception of the real. 

spirituality

A spiritual approach

What is claimed in Nidrâ yoga is extremely simple: there exist in any of us a state of joy and plenitude whose nature is beauty and love. 

This reality is not a theoretical principle, nor a delusional thought, but a fact that belongs to everyone to experiment. It is clear that individually, but also collectively, this state is not of our daily routine. Individuals surfer for very various reasons and the collectivity, mankind as such, is too in a state of tremendous suffering caused by centuries of deviant social behaviors ; war being obviously the most absurd behavior found to inflict wounds that last for decades… 

Nidrâ yoga is a tool that can help us to become aware of our conditioning, to free ourselves from it and stop the flow of suffering in which humanity is. Because the state of the world is a reflection of our inner world.

Benefits

The benefits of Nidrâ yoga

In a first step, it answers to problems linked with excess of tensions responsible of insomnia, nervous disorders, of general tiredness, irritability, lack of focus…

In a second step, it allows an understanding of the mental schemes which condition our daily lives, in order to be less dependent on them.

In a third step, it is a very powerful mean to enter in relation with a state of peace and silence.

To move further in this state almost always implies to live inner experiences that are in reality purifications of mental congestions. It is important not to confuse those phenomenons with forms of mental instability. In such, the role of the teacher is decisive in order to allow the student to continue progressing through this mental clarity, without being slowed down par archaic fears resurfacing in the thoughts. This requires the teacher to have a sufficient formation in order to avoid any mistake.

Lastly, Nidrâ yoga favors a non-limited state of openness, accompanied by a feeling of deep joy. The spiritual dimension is then discovered in this approach. 

The proposition of Nidrâ yoga is to travel in total lucidity the path going from the forgetting towards the presence to self. It resides in an approach of progressive awareness of the ensemble of processes organising the sensation of being alive. In a very paradoxal way, this awareness can only be perceived in a deep state of letting go. 

The practice of Nidrâ yoga is constituted in a whole ensemble of very codified exercices allowing one to visit the various fonctions organising the human being. 

It relies in particular on two fundamental approaches which are the very deep conscious relaxation and the penetrating concentration without tensions

Copyright © Nidra Yoga International 2020. All Rights Reserved.

Nidrâ Yoga

 

 

Vishnuennidra

 

 

Qu’est-ce que Nidrâ yoga ?

Yoga du rêve et du sommeil conscients, le Nidrâ Yoga trouve son origine dans les traditions du Shivaïsme du Cachemire et du Vedanta, remontant tous deux à plusieurs milliers d’années. Il présente l’organisation de l’être humain sous la forme de cinq degrés qu’il va s’agir de découvrir, d’étudier et de connaître intimement afin de s’établir dans un état de conscience où ne réside plus aucune trace de séparation, conflit ou souffrances.

Le Premier

Jagrat

Jagrat, est l’état de veille dans lequel l’individu perd conscience de sa véritable nature en s’identifiant au corps, à la forme et au nom.

Le Second

Svapna

Svapna, est l’état de rêve dans lequel l’identification repose sur les impressions et les images mentales qui sont le résultat des mémoires accumulées au cours de l’état de veille. Ici encore, l’individu demeure inconscient de sa véritable nature.

Le Troisième

Sushupti

Sushupti, est l’état de sommeil sans rêves dans lequel la personne n’a plus conscience de quoi que ce soit. C’est un état d’absence.

Le Quatrième

Turya

Turya, dont procèdent les trois premiers, et qui peut être découvert au travers du Nidra Yoga. Il est l’état dans lequel la véritable nature de l’individu, son identité sans objets, est perçue, généralement de façon fulgurante et imprévisible.

C’est aussi ce que la tradition du yoga nomme Samadhi, ou état naturel de conscience universelle.

Le Cinquième

Turyatita

Turyatita, qui est l’établissement stable dans cette conscience sans objets, est le résultat de la répétition d’incursions multiples dans l’état de Turya, totalement autonome et indépendant de toute volonté personnelle.

La proposition du Nidrâ Yoga est de parcourir en toute lucidité ce cheminement allant de l’oubli à la présence à soi. Il se situe dans une approche progressive de prise de conscience de l’ensemble des processus organisant la sensation d’être vivant. De façon très paradoxale, ces prises de conscience ne peuvent être perçues que dans un état de profond « lâcher-prise ».

La pratique du Nidrâ Yoga est constituée de tout un ensemble d’exercices très codifiés permettant  de visiter les diverses fonctions qui organisent l’être humain.

Elle s’appuie notamment sur deux approches fondamentales que sont la relaxation consciente très profonde et la concentration pénétrante sans tensions.

Un grand nombre d’exercices sont utilisés, favorisant et permettant :

  • Détente profonde du corps anatomique, physiologique, osseux et nerveux,
  • Détente mentale et reconnaissance des schémas d’organisation de la pensée,
  • Conscience des différents types de rêves et des énergies dont ils procèdent,
  • Relation aux archétypes et leurs influences sur le rêve et l’état de veille,
  • Perception et développement du corps d’énergie,
  • Utilisation de l’imagerie mentale pour élargir les facultés de perception,
  • Développement des facultés sensorielles,
  • Dosage de la volonté et du silence mental,
  • Relation à la mort.

La place des postures

 

On pourrait qualifier le Nidrâ yoga d’un yoga sans postures car précisément, il n’y a pas de travail corporel au sens strict. Il s’agit exclusivement d’approfondir les différents niveaux de la relaxation et les degrés de la concentration.

Cela dit, comme nous avons un corps, il nous faut le placer dans une position ! Concrètement, la partie relaxation profonde (sithilîkarana) se déroule étendu sur un épais tapis et la partie concentration pénétrante (Dhâranâ) se fait assis sur un coussin. Dans sa phase avancée, le Nidrâ yoga se pratique soit en posture assise, soit en marchant. Quant à la partie étude de soi (Svâdhyâya), qui implique divers types de dialogue (intérieur, à deux, à trois et en groupe), elle s’effectue assis avec des consignes précises.

Il s’agit d’un exercice particulier où l’on apprend à chercher seul ou à plusieurs un passage entre parole et vécu, entre clarté mentale et perception intense du réel.

 lord_vishnu_in_yoga_nidra_er12

Une démarche spirituelle

 

Ce qui affirmé dans le Nidrâ yoga est extrêmement simple : il existe en chacun de nous un état de joie et de plénitude dont la nature est beauté et amour.

Cette réalité-là n’est pas un principe théorique, ni une idée fantasque, mais un fait qu’il appartient à chacun d’expérimenter. Il est évident qu’individuellement, mais aussi collectivement, cet état n’est pas notre lot quotidien. Les individus souffrent pour des raisons très nombreuses et la collectivité, l’humanité en tant que telle, est elle aussi dans un état de souffrance immense dû à tous nos comportements sociaux déviants depuis des siècles ; les guerres étant évidemment les comportement le plus absurde que nous ayons trouvé pour laisser en nous des blessures qui perdurent durant des décennies…

Le Nidrâ yoga est un outil pouvant nous aider à prendre conscience de nos conditionnements, à nous en libérer et à arrêter le flot des souffrances dans lequel l’humanité est plongée. Car l’état du monde est à l’image de notre monde intérieur.

Les bienfaits du Nidrâ yoga

Dans un premier temps, il répond aux problèmes liés aux excès de tensions responsables d’insomnie, de troubles nerveux, de fatigue générale, d’irritabilité, de manque d’attention…

Dans un deuxième temps, il permet de comprendre les schémas mentaux qui conditionnent noc vies quotidiennes pour en devenir moins dépendant.

Dans un troisième temps, c’est un moyen très puissant pour entrer en relation avec un état de paix et de silence.

S’avancer vers cet état implique quasiment toujours de vivre des expériences intérieures qui sont en réalité une purification des encombrements mentaux. Il convient de ne pas confondre ces phénomènes et ces expériences avec des formes d’instabilité mentale. Et le rôle de l’enseignement est déterminant pour permettre à l’élève de continuer à avancer vers cette clarté mentale, sans être ralenti par des peurs archaïques refaisant surface dans la pensée. Ce qui nécessite de la part de l’instructeur, une formation suffisante pour éviter tout dérapage.

Enfin le Nidrâ yoga favorise un état d’ouverture non limité, accompagné d’une sensation de joie profonde. On n’y découvre alors la dimension spirituelle de cette démarche.

La proposition du Nidrâ Yoga est de parcourir en toute lucidité ce cheminement allant de l’oubli à la présence à soi. Il se situe dans une approche progressive de prise de conscience de l’ensemble des processus organisant la sensation d’être vivant. De façon très paradoxale, ces prises de conscience ne peuvent être perçues que dans un état de profond « lâcher-prise ».

La pratique du Nidrâ Yoga est constituée de tout un ensemble d’exercices très codifiés permettant  de visiter les diverses fonctions qui organisent l’être humain.

Elle s’appuie notamment sur deux approches fondamentales que sont la relaxation consciente très profonde et la concentration pénétrante sans tensions.